He holds my world in His hands.

Come Out From Among The Unbelievers

I can’t pretend to be pious and claim to be the best Christian out there. I’m not, I’m far from any kind of perfection in my faith, or my walk. But I am not where I was, nor do I intend to go back. God has shown me more of Himself in the last several months than I imagined I’d ever see. He’s blessed me in ways I thought impossible – but with God, all things are possible.

I’ve laid aside the idols of secular television, movies and music as my ‘entertainment’. God made me inescapably aware, through His word, His urging my spirit, and through my husband that I needed to part with the satanic poison that the secular media hypnotises the masses with. At first I didn’t want to do it, but I did it in faith and as an act of submission. I do not regret it.

The secular media itself is a powerful tool of the enemy. It’s dangerous to underestimate it’s potency. It entices both the conscious and the subconscious mind into sin. It creates separation from God by dually feeding the flesh and starving the soul of the food it really needs – which is Jesus Christ.

Instead of praising the God who made you, as you’re meant to do, Satan has you lured cleverly into worshipping false idols – worshipping the devil himself – by singing along to demonic, godless rubbish!

These athletes, musicians, actors, whatever other celebrity that people are fans of, they’re nothing more than human beings like the rest of us, souls that need Christ. Misguided individuals with God given talents that are being sadly misused. Moreover, by ‘idolising’ these individuals, you are indeed, turning them into idols. What is an idol? It’s a false god. And as the first commandment demands: “Thou shalt have no other god before Me.”

There are many calling themselves Christians today that are convinced secular entertainment isn’t bad, and consume it as much as non-Christians. When did this become okay? We are called to be set apart, we’re not to be of the world, so why play with it’s trash?

Therefore, come out from among unbelievers, and separate yourselves from them, says the LORD. Don’t touch their filthy things, and I will welcome you.

2 Corinthians 6:17 (NLT)

What good can you draw from secular material? The music industry promotes just about every anti-Christian value known to man. Drug abuse, alcoholism, homosexuality, sexual promiscuity and perversion, coarse language, innuendo, violence and murder are all so common place in the lyrics of secular music, and in the accompanying music videos, that it’s no longer shocking to us.

If listening to these kinds of things, which offend God, ‘entertains’ you, how much of a Christian are you?

We are told in scripture to think on good things, how can secular entertainment fit into that with what it promotes?

And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honourable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.

Philippians 4:8 (NLT)

Secular music, television and movies, do not fit into this. The statement ‘Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise’, to me, says clearly – fix your thoughts upon Jesus!

To those Christians who partake of secular entertainment, thinking there’s nothing wrong with it: how long will you harden your heart against the God you claim to serve? How long will you continue on paying Him lip service while worshipping television and music idols in your heart? The filthy worldly entertainment you cling to can cost you your soul if you continue to prioritize it over God. It’s a matter of spiritual life and death – how long will you ignore it?

______________________________

I ended up making a video about this post, there’s some extra information in the video not included in the original post.

Leave a Reply

